Who ya kiddin’?

I tend to avoid a lot of things; confrontations, paying bills, pork.. I’m not always great at it. Say, for example, I see someone walking down the road. And say that I would know them well enough that I would have to stop and talk to them but not well enough that I would actually enjoy doing it. In this case, I would look for a way to remove myself  from their oncoming path or else immerse myself in some incredibly important task on my ipod. Cause lets face it, eye contact can be the portal to an unforeseen realm of awkwardness.

But the one thing which I try to avoid at all costs are horror movies. I just don’t have the heart for it. Frankly, I can’t really understand why someone would voluntarily watch something which may induce terror for the duration of 90 minutes and paranoia and nightmares for the rest of your life. And related to this is the serious lack of time I actually have for sleep. It wouldn’t even be logical for me to participate in something which I know will cause me some serious fear induced insomnia (I’m not even sure that this is actually a proper sentence cause of the ,previously mentioned, lack of sleep) .

In fact, I dislike them so much that I get annoyed when people ask me to watch them. I mean, I know some of them are creative and artfully done. Like 28 Days Later. But the majority are made with the goal of setting the viewers pulse racing and heart thumping. Both of which are really unpleasant unless you are in need of an adrenaline rush. I mean, its pretty much the equivalent of an alcoholic drinking mouthwash in an attempt to get drunk if alcohol is unavailable.

Anyway, to sum up. I do not like horror. I know that I don’t like it and I choose to avoid it. So why then do people try to trick me into watching these films under false pretenses? Even people that really should know better, like the one’s who claim to dislike these movies too? Let me tell you something, if you don’t like something you’re not gonna actively seek to participate in it and you clearly have no idea where I’m coming from. And related to this is, I was excited about actually wearing something else other than a black pants, white shirt combo and hitting the local cinema.

Alas, I will remain in my pj’s and spend Friday night in. But at least I’m guaranteed an easy sleep later on.

Standard

Leave a Reply

